Diary Dates

2020

Sunday 2nd February
Ruff and Surplice Sunday. Could everyone remember to take ruffs and surplices home after Evensong for washing and starching (ruffs only!!)……..and remember to bring them back next Sunday.

Wednesday 19th February
Half Term Break. No Choir Practice.
All Sunday Services (ie on 16th & 23rd ) at the usual times.

Wednesday 26th February. Ash Wednesday
Because there is a Sung Eucharist on this day, please note the adjusted timetable to accommodate this Service.
Practice: 5.30 – 6.30 (Probationers) 5.55 – 7.10 (All other boys) 6.25 –7.10 (Men)
Eucharist 7.30 (Full Choir, except Probationers).

Saturday 7th March
Festival Evensong at 3.30 in Blackburn Cathedral. This is open to all Choirs in the Diocese and will be conducted by the Cathedral’s new Choirmaster, John Robinson. Rehearsals commence at 1.30.

Sunday 8th March
Practice for all boys singing in Isle of Man 9.00 – 10.30. Refreshments will be served before the Eucharist.
Meeting after Evensong for all boys and their parents involved in the IOM Course.

Friday 20th March
Choir Dinner for Gentlemen and their partners at The Villa, Wrea Green.

Sunday 22nd March
Practice for all Choristers singing in this year’s IOM Course 9.00 – 10.30. Refreshments will be served before the Eucharist.

Sunday 29th March
Services at the usual times. Be aware that British Summer time commences to day; don’t get it wrong!
Final briefing for Boys travelling to the Isle of Man after Evensong.

Ruff & Surplice Sunday. Everyone take ruffs and surplices home after Evensong for washing and starching (ruffs only!!) – ……..and remember to bring them back on Maundy Thursday (Good Friday Probs).

Wednesday 1st April
Practice for Full Choir at usual times. Music to be rehearsed: Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, Easter Day – along with men’s Services on Palm Sunday, Wednesday Compline & Holy Saturday…A busy night!

Friday 3rd April – Thursday 9th April
Boys’ Isle of Man Holiday Course

Sunday 5th April
Morning Eucharist sung by Men’s Voices.
Evensong said.

Wednesday 8th April
Men’s Voices sing Compline at 8.30
No Choir Practice

Thursday 9th April – Maundy Thursday
Eucharist of the Last Supper 7.30 pm – Full Choir, but not Probationers
Surplices and ruffs. Remember!!

Friday 10th April – Good Friday
Mattins & Litany at 11.00 am – Full Choir.

Saturday 11th April – Holy Saturday
Easter Vigil sung by Men’s Voices
Practice 7.30 pm. Service 8.00 pm.

Sunday 12th April – Easter Day
Services at usual times on this important day

Monday 13th April – Easter Monday
Annual Football Match for Dads and Lads. Broughton Junior School Field 10.00 am.

Wednesday 15th April
Practice at usual times

Sunday 19th April
Services at usual times

Wednesday 22nd April
No Practice. Easter Break

Sunday 26th April
Services at usual times.

…and just in case you are wondering!
The Choir Coffee Morning hasn’t been forgotten. Parents are currently looking at a suitable date .and of course a suitable venue.
Watch this space!

Looking Ahead:

Sunday 25th October
The Choir sings 10.30 am Eucharist and 3.00 pm Evensong at Liverpool Cathedral.

Friday 13th December Carol Singing Evening (Provisional)
Broughton Club etc

Wednesday, Thursday 16th & 17th December
Carol Concerts, 7.30 Parish Church

Sunday 20th December
Carol Service. 6.30 Parish Church

Friday 25th December
Christmas Day Eucharist 10.00 am

2021

Friday 15th January
Hot Pot Supper and Awards Evening

Tuesday 6th April – Monday 12th April
Boys’ Isle of Man Holiday Course. The schools thankfully have the same holiday dates this year!

To be arranged in 2020

Evensong at Cartmel

Day trip to Llandudno

Senior Boys’ trip to Blackpool Pleasure Beach

And don’t forget, for up to date Choir News, the Parish Magazine, ‘Broughton Outlook’, published monthly, is a must!  This attractive publication also keeps you up to date with other ‘happenings’.  It is available from the back of Church, £1.00.